Richland County Location

The present county of Richland was originally a part of Wayne County — the third erected in the Northwest Territory

Wayne was created by proclamation of Gov. St. Clair, August 15, 1796, and embraced all of Northwestern Ohio, Northwestern Indiana, Michigan, Northern Illinois and Wisconsin.

On the 16th of January, 1808, a bill passed the General Assembly of Ohio, creating the counties of Knox, Licking and Richland.

The above is from "History of Richland County," compiled by A. A. Graham, 1880.


  • Mansfield
  • Ontario
  • Shelby


  • Bellville
  • Butler
  • Lexington
  • Lucas
  • Salem


  • Bloominggrove
  • Butler
  • Cass
  • Franklin
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Madison
  • Mifflin
  • Monroe
  • Perry
  • Plymouth
  • Sandusky
  • Sharon
  • Springfield
  • Troy
  • Washington
  • Weller
  • Worthington

Neighboring Counties:

This is a massive site - nearly 20gb of data and photos. I am working to reformat this site to make it easier to read and easier to navigate. If you wish to see the old site, it's here.

Share With Us

Genealogy is all about sharing. If you have information or resources relating to Fayette County, we would love to hear from you. Just click the "Contact Us" link above. Conversely, anything you find here may be used for any non-commercial genealogical or historical purpose. Kindly acknowledge your source. Nothing contained on this site may be reproduced for any commercial or "pay" genealogy service.